Tuesday, 26 July 2016


St Germain Des Pres 1971

01. Chambre Anachronique
02. Nouvelles Planètes
03. Appel Spatial
04. Moduule Lunaire
05. Capsule en Panne
06. Forme Planétaire
07. Gare Spatiale
08. Extra-Terrestre
09. Limite Extrême
10. Nébuleuses
11. Bande Radioactive

Its nice to see an artist get the reissue treatment they deserve. Cinedelic have recently released 'Biologia Animale E Vegetale'. Hopefully a series will reveal its self soon.

In the meantime, here's 'Futurissimo' from 1971. If you're unfamiliar, check out previous posts.

Otherwise go straight to the best avant garde, sound collage, improvised library music via comments.


01. Trembling Bells - Killing Time in London Fields
02. The Gentle Waves - Hangman in the Shadow
03. Flying Saucer Attack - Sally Free and Easy
04. Cath & Phil Tyler - Wether's Skin
05. PJ Harvey - The Devil
06. Aphex Twin - Z Twig
07. Movietone - Sun Drawing
08. James Blackshaw - O True Believers
09. Portishead - Machine Gun
10. Bert Jansch - The Wheel
11. Richard Dawson - Judas Iscariot
12. Slowdive - When the Sun Hits
13. Michael Head & The Strands - Queen Matilda
14. Shirley Collins & Albion Country Band
15. Arab Strap - The First Big Weekend
16. Bill Fay - Omega Day
17. Anne Briggs - The Recruited Collier

The eighth and final volume of Esoterica Britannica, this time curated by Marc Gillen.

The series has proved to be surprisingly popular, thanks to everyone that listened or commented. There will be a new series next month.


Treehouse Orchestra Recordings TOR53. 2016.

01. You Can't Take It Back
02. No One Belongs Here More Than You
03. Down Terrace
04. Driven To Dust

The curator of the final Esoterica Britannica is Marc Gillen and this is the latest release by him. I engineered and play on the songs with other TOR members Jill and David helping out. My Wooden Houses partner Al mixed and produced.

I include it because it starts off loner downer folk with field recordings into downer psych. Taking in the Manson Family Jams, sound collage and psych folk. Heavy downer vibe with stoner leanings.

Recorded throughout June and July during sunny evenings.

Follow the Bandcamp link for a free download.

Monday, 27 June 2016


Pure Freude 1982

01. Mister Schmidt
02. Machine Dance II
03. Comment: Brain
04. Alone
05. Comment: Commercial
06. Spanish Drive
07. Comment: Axe
08. End Of A Party
09. Comment: Influence
10. Under The Surface
11. Comment: Cheers
12. Only You One
13. Comment: Art
14. Comment: Finger
15. Shall I Get You More
16. Comment: God
17. A Radio Beam
18. Comment: Hands
19. Machine Dance I
20. Howdoyoudooright
21. Comment: Musician
22. The Can Telefon Jingle
23. Only You Two
24. The Master And The Needle
25. Rose
26. Comment: Next LP
27. Harry: The Thief

Shockingly rare Can now. Originally released in 1982 by Pure Freude on cassette and also as a limited edition tin can containing several tape reels. That was limited to 100 copies.

This was recorded at Inner Space in 1976, but it's not classic Can; this is avant garde collage. Studio chatter, noise, things being hit...the sound of Can pottering in their studio.

A nice re-issue appeared on the Sub Sonum label in 2007. That edition was also limited to 100 copies.


01. Current 93 - Red Hawthorne Tree
02. Richard Youngs - Soon it Will Be Fire
03. Mick Harris & Martyn Bates - The Cruel Mother
04. *AR - Wolfhou
05. Coil - Remote Viewing 5

Curated by Jeremy Bye.


And for those of you who wanted to know...

Esoterica Britannica Volume 5 - "They Are In The Room With Us Now"

Curated by David Thompson.

01. The Advisory Circle - Logotone 1: Decisions
02. The Advisory Circle - Wheel of the Year
03. Belbury Poly - Green Grass Grows
04. The Focus Group - Fruminous Numinous
05. Pye Corner Audio - A Door in the Dry Ice
06. Belbury Poly - The Willows
07. The Focus Group - Hey Let Loose Your Love
08. The Advisory Circle - Sundial
09. Mount Vernon Arts Lab - The Black Drop
10. Belbury Poly - Rattler's Hey
11. Pye Corner Audio - Nostalgia Pills
12. The Focus Group - Through the Green Lens
13. Roj - Inhale, Exhale, Love!
14. Belbury Poly - Clockwork Horoscope
15. Mount Vernon Arts Lab - The Submariner's Song
16. Eric Zann - Threshold
17. Belbury Poly - The Moonlawn
18. The Focus Group - The Bohm Site
19. Pye Corner Audio - Chlorine
20. Belbury Poly - Swingalong
21. The Advisory Circle - Mind How You Go Now
22. The Focus Group - Popping Art
23. Roj - They are in the Room with Us Now
24. Belbury Poly - The Hidden Door


01. Reaction in G
02. Pow R. Toc H
03. Scream Thy Last Scream
04. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun
05. Interstellar Overdrive
       - Live in Rotterdam, 13th of November 1967.

06. See Emily Play - Acetate #1
07. Scream Thy Last Scream - Mono Single Mix
08. Vegetable Man - Mono Single Mix
09. Roger Waters Interview 10/09/67
10. Vegetable Man - Alternate Mix
11. Vegetable Man Jam
12. Beechwoods
13. Green Onions - From 'Tomorrow's World'
14. Improvisation - From 'Tomorrow's World'

Tuesday, 31 May 2016


Unreleased 1968.

01. She's Got Everything
02. Monica
03. Mr. Songbird
04. Johnny Thunder
05. Polly
06. Days
07. Animal Farm
08. Berkeley Mews
09. Picture Book
10. Phenomenal Cat
11. Misty Water

The famous American album that was never released. Reprise; the Kinks label in the U.S., was growing concerned about the lack of output in 1968. They requested enough tracks from Pye to release a new album. Ray Davies blocked its release, he wanted enough time to finish what he knew was going to be an important album and have that same record released simultaneously at home and in the states.

'The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society' is a far superior album to 'Four More Respected Gentlemen', but it's a fun alternative.

For Kinks fans and alternate album mixtape makers.